Professional Development and Recognition Committee (PDRC)


The PDRC is a standing committee of the UW-Madison Academic Staff Assembly. This committee has the primary responsibility of selecting the Academic Staff Excellence awards, Professional Development grant recipients, and the Executive Education grants. The committee works to review and make changes to these programs as necessary as well as increase the number of opportunities available to provide professional development or recognition to academic staff.

View information about awards and grants for academic staff.

Agendas and Minutes can be found here.

Contact any committee member if you have questions, comments, or suggestions.


Twelve members elected by the Assembly. Four are elected each year to serve three-year terms. There are no term limits.  All members should have shown commitment to professional development of academic staff.

Current Committee Members

Nichlos Ewoldt (Chair) – through 6/30/2022

Ilia Guzei – – through 6/30/2021

Angela Kita – – through 6/30/2021

Nia Norris – through 6/30/2023

Kristina Penniston – through 6/30/2023

Martha Reck – through 6/30/2022

Mary Russell – through 6/30/2021

Bonnie Shucha – through 6/30/2022

Diane Stojanovich – through 6/30/2023

Andrew Turner – through 6/30/2023

Christopher Yue – through 6/30/2022